Meeting Minutes- APPROVED

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Math & Science Academy Thursday, June 14, 2018

Room 10

8430 Woodbury Crossing, Woodbury, MN 55125

- 1. Call to Order by by Jeana Albers (Chair) at 5:00 pm
- 2. Mission:

We provide accelerated curricula in all subjects, with an emphasis on math and science.

Vision:

To be an innovative, sustainable model of academic excellence that creates well-rounded, lifelong learners and global citizens.

3. Roll Call of Members

Present:

Voting:

Jeana Albers, Chair & Teacher Member
Ken Thielman, Vice Chair & Community Member
Mona Hayashi, Treasurer & Parent Member (arrived at 5:05 pm)
Rita Winchester, Secretary & Parent Member (arrived at 5:03 pm)
Cheri Howe, Teacher Member
Jeff Eng, Parent Member
Noah Langseth, Teacher Member
Lisa Anderson, Teacher Member

Non-voting:

John Gawarecki, Director (ex officio)

Absent:

Voting:

Alexandria Ledo, Community Member

Non-voting:

Simran Chandak, Student Member

Judith Darling BKDA, Contracted Financial Manager (ex officio)

Meeting Minutes- APPROVED

4. Motion to go into closed meeting for purpose of Director's Review

Moved by: Cheri Howe Second: Lisa Anderson

The meeting was closed pursuant to Minnesota state statute 13D.05 subdivision 2. Doors to the room were closed at 5:01 pm for the closed meeting.

Discussion: Closed portion of meeting was audio recorded. Due to a technical issue with the recording device, a portion of the first part of the discussion was not recorded. This was addressed on the recording when the issue was corrected. A copy of the recording will be stored in the office. Closed portion of the meeting ended at 6:44 pm

5. Approval of Contract for Director

Moved by: Jeff Eng Second: Mona Hayashi

Discussion: Request made to Finance for 1% pay raise plus \$3000 to Director's Personal Development for continuing education. Director is still below average pay. It was questioned why the Director is receiving a pay raise two years in a row. It was explained that teachers' current pay scale is set up for an increase every year.

Vote: Yes - 7 Cheri Howe- no Abstain - 0

6. Motion to Adjourn

Moved by: Ken Thielman Second: Jeana Albers

Submitted:

Rita Winchester, Secretary

Approved:

Rita Winchester, Secretary